Monday, April 18, 2011

Library Design Contest Winners Announced

When the College of Lake County Library opened in 1974, students searched for resources using massive card catalogs. There was not a computer in sight. Although the CLC library's second floor layout has not changed a lot since then, student and instructor information needs have evolved. Today's users require spaces where they can work individually or in groups, with computers and wireless Internet at their disposal. They need flexible spaces that support problem solving and collaborative learning.

To engage CLC students in creating a library space that is better suited to their needs, the CLC library and the architechtural technology program co-sponsored a contest to help redesign the second floor of the library at the Grayslake Campus. Taking place on April 15th, 2001, the contest was open to students as well as community members.


Gabe Wilcox from Legat Architects

Ted Johnson, Director of Facilities, CLC

Jonathan Matta from KI, Krueger International

David Petrulis, CLC Architecture Instructor

Award Winners

1st place: Stephanie Martoccio - $500, EMPS and the Library each donated $250

2nd place: Sasha Montes de Oca – Executive Task Chair worth approx. $450

3rd place: Katherin Mundt - $100

Visit the library website, for more pictures from the event.

No comments: